Metal Frontiers

Generous Maria


Buzzville Records

Swedish hard rockers, Generous Maria are back with a new album." Another Swedish hard rock band" you ask?...Hell yeah! And a bloody good one for that matter. But let’s cut to the chase, shall we?

Although many songs have “stoner” written all over (“the chilling effect” for instance ), the majority of the music on "Electricism" has more of a 70’s classic rock appeal but their sound is a bit more complex than that. They really have done their homework, studying the masters, you can find a lot of contemporary elements and a lot of references to - early – 90’s alternative hard rock. And it’s all done with great style and a noteworthy production.

From the stoner groove “chilling effect” album opener and the – unavoidable I’m afraid - Sabbath style doom like “slit eyed lizard”, to the Monster Magnet / Led Zeppelin influenced “she’s got plans for me” and the Motorhead - like groove of “sheer violence”, "Elecrticism" is an album that never lets up. The sound is very rich and their ideas fresh and adventurous, all the time saluting the heroes of the past.

I know that some of you will argue wether Generous Maria are adding anything new to the scene or if they are just one more band playing the same old songs. Well, let’s see…It won’t be like the first time you listened to Black Sabbath or Led Zeppelin, that’s for sure. They don’t sound like cheap rip offs, which is much more than I can say for numerous bands in the genre, and they wrote a straight forward album full of heavy guitars, great melodies and addicting grooves, all with matching hard edged vocals.

This is hard rock as it is meant to be played, on an album that spells “fun” ( a great part of what rock ‘n’ roll is all about) all the way through. How can you go wrong with that?


1. The Chilling Effect
2. Sheer Violence
3. All Wrong Alright
4. Precious And Grace
5. Slit-Eyed Lizard
6. She's Got Plans For Me
7. Ripe
8. Out Of My Head
9. Bootlicker
10. It's Called Love
11. Li'l Crisis Of Mine

Rating: 15/20